Published: Apr 27, 2021 · Updated: Apr 29, 2021 through Katie | Wheat through the Wayside · This write-up may contain affiliate links, with which I might earn a little commission in ~ no extra cost to you.

You are watching: Are beef bouillon cubes gluten free



Ever stand in the grocery aisle wondering, is bouillon is gluten-free? In this article, friend will discover which red-flag ingredient to look out for and take a look at a few popular brand to find out if they lug gluten-free bouillon.

*
Photo by Brooke Lark ~ above Unsplash

Scan the bouillon ar of your local grocery store and you"ll most likely stand there a small confused as to which bouillon you can safely buy. That"s since bouillon is a tricky food once it comes to the gluten-free diet. At an initial thought, most wouldn"t even take into consideration that bouillon would certainly contain wheat in the first place yet the reality is, several of them do! Also, bouillons often tend to contain several red-flag ingredients, that may or might not be obtained from wheat or barley. This reiterates the prominence of reading labels and doing product research once on a strictly gluten-free diet.

Jump to:

Ingredients to Look out For

There are numerous ingredients in any type of bouillon cube or powder that could be harboring gluten. Some of the feasible gluten-containing ingredients you may find are:

WheatWheat proteinsYeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast ExtractNatural Flavors

Aside indigenous containing really wheat, these various other ingredients may or might not it is in gluten-free. Because that example, yeast extract might contain gluten native barley and also should just be spend if labeled gluten-free. Organic flavors can be acquired from wheat, barley, or malt in part instances, although no as common.

If you check out these ingredients, girlfriend should:

Avoid the product.In the situation of yeast extract or organic flavors, watch if a grain source is provided or look for a gluten-free case on the label.

Popular Bouillon Brands

Let"s take it a closer look in ~ the most popular bouillon brands and also see what each agency has come say about the gluten-free standing of their products.


Is much better Than Bouillon gluten free?

No. While far better Than Bouillon supplied to be labeled gluten-free, they have since changed their stance. They no longer make gluten-free claims upon any better Than Bouillon Food Bases.


Are BOU Bouillon cubes gluten-free?

Yes, BOU chicken, vegetable, and also beef bouillon cubes space gluten-free.


Is Herb-Ox bouillon gluten free?

Yes, if labeled gluten-free. Herb-Ox will declare wheat, rye, or barley if castle are offered in a product. Herb-ox perform beef, chicken, and also vegetable bouillon together gluten-free.


Is Knorr bouillon gluten free?

Yes, if labeled gluten-free.Knorr proposal consumers review the brand each time before buying any type of product. If gluten is present, it is plainly listed in plain language on the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt). Since product formulations adjust from time to time, they do not i have announced a list of gluten-free flavors.


Is Maggi bouillon gluten-free?

No. Beef and chicken spices both save on computer wheat. According to Maggi, unless a product is labeling gluten-free, it has not to be validated to it is in gluten-free.


Are Orrington ranches broth bases gluten free?

Yes. Orrington ranches offers products that are gluten-free. In fact, they have numerous gluten-free options, consisting of beef, chicken, ham, vegetable, French onion, gravy mixes, and vegan options. Look because that the gluten-free brand on your packaging.


Is Wyler"s bouillon gluten-free?

No. The beef bouillon contains wheat. The chicken bouillon go not have actually a gluten-free claim and also it consists of yeast extract, so it need to be avoided.

See more: How Long Does A Baseball Game ? Well, It Depends How Long Is A Baseball Game


Best Gluten-free Bouillon Options

When it concerns bouillon, the safest options are items through a gluten-free label. Many bouillon cubes and powders save wheat and also other questionable ingredients, such as yeast extract, that may come indigenous glutenous grains.

So even if a bouillon does not contain wheat, if that is not labeled gluten-free, it may be difficult to phone call if you can trust the product unless you visit the firm website for much more information. In most cases, if the product is not labeled gluten-free, the firm is likewise not validating that it is for sure to eat.

Currently, the most safe brands providing gluten-free bouillons room Knorr, Herb-Ox, Orrington Farms, and BOU due to the fact that each of these brands will label gluten-free flavors and also are an extremely transparent about ingredients that may contain gluten.

Do you have a go-to brand of bouillon? Is there another brand you"d like much more information on? Drop that in the comments!

Thank you because that reading! If you liked this article, be sure to examine out related topics below! Feel complimentary to sign up with my newsletter! I"ll send brand-new gluten-free write-ups & recipes right to your received mailbox! Share this on Facebook and also Pinterest using the social share buttons below! sharing helps an ext people like you learn from this articles! If you enjoyed this article, permit me recognize in the comments!Thank friend for your support!